WSR’s title-winning success in the British Touring Car Championship has been honoured at the annual Professional Motorsport World Expo Awards with an unprecedented double prize.

After winning the BTCC Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ championships this season, WSR were last night (Thursday) named European Race Series Team of the Year while the BMW 330i M Sport claimed the International Race Car of the Year award.

At a prestigious ceremony in Cologne, Germany, which was attended by 300 of the global motorsport industry’s most senior figures, WSR became the first back-to-back winners of the team prize in the history of the PMW awards.

Adding further success was the International Race Car of the Year award for the 330i M Sport, which propelled Colin Turkington and Andrew Jordan to first and second places in the Drivers’ Championship and sealed a fourth straight BTCC Manufacturers’ crown for BMW.

Despite only hitting the track 24 hours ahead of the official series launch in March, the 3 Series, which was designed, built and run by WSR, won on its debut weekend at Brands Hatch and took 11 victories – WSR’s highest single-season win total – and 21 podiums.

Among the cars beaten to the award were the multiple title-winning Lamborghini Huracan Evo GT3, the DJR/Team Penske Ford Mustang that claimed the Supercars crown in Australia and the Honda Civic Type R FK8.

Team Principal Dick Bennetts was presented with the awards by Tony Robinson, CEO of Professional Motorsport World Expo organiser UKi Media.

WSR are the most successful BTCC team of the past six years, having won 11 overall championships during this period including three Drivers’ titles with Colin Turkington.

Dick Bennetts, Team Principal, said: “It’s a great honour for everybody at WSR to achieve this double award from Professional Motorsport World, a publication that’s not only essential reading for me, but also influential within the technology and business sectors of the industry. The BMW 330i M Sport only turned its first wheel one day before the BTCC season launch, and had less than two full days of testing before the start of the year, but was quick out of the blocks and helped put us in great shape to take the championship. To secure the Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ titles with a team record 11 wins shows what a fantastic job everybody involved with the programme has done in 2019. I’d like to congratulate all our team members and to thank Professional Motorsport World for these two honours.”